Exit Rumination Remixes

By C. Diab

“Hauntingly beautiful…A unique vision and expert musicianship.”

“Mesmerising, meditative drone-raag.”
Nick Luscombe, BBC Radio 3

Buy On

Vancouver-based bowed guitar and trumpet player C. Diab follows his stunning Exit Rumination LP (March 2018) with a beautiful remix EP, a collection of inventive takes on tracks from the album. Three album tracks are shown in vibrant new light by Ian William Craig, Ekin Fil, GMS and Dimir Standard over four remixes. Each new take brings out hues, colours and shades from the original forms and adds new life to previously sparse and meditative dronescapes. Organic and naturalist acoustic recordings are processed and treated while the remote wilderness of Canada’s Pacific mountain region is still reflected in the re-interpretations.

C. Diab’s friend and collaborator, acclaimed vocalist/composer Ian William Craig (130701, Recital) turns ‘The Green Plain’ into a wonderful, processed, chorally acapella piece. Ambient artist and ‘pop-drone chanteuse’ Ekin Fil (Helen Scarsdale) who found herself in several albums of the year lists with ‘Ghosts Inside’ in 2017, creates an even darker mood for ‘Butterflies.’ Two more stunning remixes come from fellow Canadian producer Dimir Standard who also engineered Exit Rumination and GMS, the solo project of Gabriel Mindel Saloman, formerly of American experimental band Yellow Swans.

C. Diab self-describes the style of his elegant cello-bowed guitar compositions as ‘post-classical grunge’. Born Caton Diab in 1986, Ottawa, Canada, he released his first album proper ‘No Perfect Wave’ on Injazero Records in 2016 to much critical acclaim and support from the likes of Drowned in Sound, the Wire, Nick Luscombe, the Quietus and XLR8R. The follow-up was ‘Exit Rumination’ on 30th March 2018, where “everything Diab has previously achieved is focused and perfected” (The Wire).

Released on 13 July 2018.
Cover art by Simon DeBree.
Art direction by Siné Buyuka & C. Diab.